Final Project-The Garden of Gethsemane

In the spring of 2011 I had the amazing opportunity to travel to Israel with my church. During my trip I learned about the history of the land and saw many different biblical places of the Old and New Testaments. Throughout my tour in Israel I was continually bombarded by a rush of sites, sounds and information. It was a whirlwind two week trip where we explored both Jerusalem and Galilee. The trip for me at times was surreal and I was constantly amazed that I was actually seeing places that I had read about in the Bible. In the midst of the busyness of the tour there were several places where our group took a moment to pause and rest in God’s presence as we thought about the significance of the place we had journeyed to.

One of the intriguing places that we traveled to was the Garden of Gethsemane. It was amazing to me to be able to actually walk in a place so famous and historically significant as the Garden of Gethsemane.  Here is a picture I took while at the Garden of Gethsemane.Gethsemane Photo

For my final project for Art and Christ I decided to do a drawing of the Garden of Gethsemane. Using sepia tones of pastel pencils and charcoal I created a drawing of this beautiful and sacred place.

Gethsemane Drawing

I wanted my final project to be something personal and beautiful that I have experienced and I feel like my drawing captures the essence of that moment of walking in the garden.

One thought on “Final Project-The Garden of Gethsemane

  1. I like that you took something you found spiritually meaningful and wanted to make a piece about it. The Garden of Gethsemane looks like a very lovely place. The dilemma I have with your final work is to be honest, your photo is more interesting. The composition, color, and depth is just more lively. I’d also be curious to see an image that isn’t just using one photo as a resource but a number of photos, objects, or the like in order to capture the feeling and spiritual significance of the place.

    Within the reflection here, I would of liked to have heard a little more tie in to some of the varieties of topics we’ve talked about in class, be it goodness, truth, identity or the like.

    Great to have you in class Heidi. Hope you have a wonderful break.

Leave a Reply

